The final weekend in April is a big one for equestrian sports. Of course, no one could forget that it is Rolex, I’m not even an eventer and I’m still super excited about it- we have a big team of HJU bloggers that will be bringing you all of the action, but there is also a big thing happening in jumper land… the World Cup Final!

Taking place in Gothenburg, Sweden, it will be a show down between the top stars of the sport. Do you remember who won it last year? I’ll give you a hint, it was an American pair… from Oregon… the horse is a little chestnut stallion… he won USEF International Horse of the Year… of course, Rich Fellers and Flexible!

Can Rich and Flexible do it again? Winning back to back World Cup titles is not unheard of, Rodrigo Pessoa made it three in a row 1998-2000, but they certainly have a lot of incredibly fierce and talented competition. Click here for the complete riders list, along with the horses they will be riding.

Rich Fellers and Flexible. -Photo by Keara

Rich Fellers and Flexible. -Photo by Keara

Unfortunately, there are no Canadians, but wow, check out that American squad! Along with Rich and Flexible, we are talking Beezie, Kent, Reed, McLain…. all of whom who have had great lead ups to this event. North America has a lot to cheer about!

Alright, so when is all the action taking place?

**PLEASE NOTE SLIGHT TIME CHANGES**

  • Competition 1= Thursday, April 25th at 18.30 CEST= 12.30 EST
  • Competition 2= Friday April 26th at 18.00 CEST= 12.00 EST
  • Final= Sunday, April 28th at 14.00 CEST= 8.00  EST

Can you watch it online?

Well, yes, but you will need a subscription to FEI TV. I know, I can hear your groans from here! Don’t worry though, I will be watching and I will be sure to keep you updated with results!

Do you have any favourites to win?

Christian Ahlmann and Taloubet Z. -Photo by Keara

Christian Ahlmann and Taloubet Z. -Photo by Keara

Rich and Flexible? How about Christian Ahlmann, currently the #1 rider in the world? Or how about Reed Kessler? She was fabulous in Paris and always seems to rise to the occasion. With a list of riders like that, anyone you pick to win is a good choice. It will be very interesting to watch things play out, we are in for a great competition!

So, really, I hope no one needs me at the end of next week/weekend because I will be glued to my computer taking in as much high powered equestrian that I can. Fingers crossed that the internet gods shine down on my connection!

Keara
Read my other blog posts here!